List of Lakes in Uganda


Uganda has been called a land of lakes because almost a third of the country is covered by water.

Approximately 18% of Uganda’s land surface of 236,040 km2 is covered by water. The country has 165 lakes with internal surface water resources estimated at 39 km3 yr-1, while groundwater is believed to be around 29 km3 y-1.

The lakes are a home to different aquatic life and offer opportunity for fishing as well as boat cruising for tourists while viewing different wildlife

The key lakes include the following;

Lake George and  Lake Edward are connected by the Kazinga Channel.

Smaller Lakes

The key smaller lakes include the following;

  • Lake Nyabungo is located in Masaka District, Central Uganda,
  • Lake Wamala is located in the districts of Mubende, Mityana and Mpigi in central Uganda.
  • Lake Mutanda is located in Kisoro District in southwestern Uganda,
  • Lake Kwania is in the Lira and Apac districts of the Northern Region of Uganda
  • Lake Nyabikere, is only 13km from Fort Portal on Kamwenge Road
  • Lake Nkugute is located along Mbarara-Kasese Highway in Rubirizi District
  • Lake Kyaninga is a Crater Lake situated with the Fort Portal Crater field.
  • Lake Saka located in Kabarole District in Western Uganda
  • Lake Bisina is located in Eastern Uganda and was formerly  called Lake Salisbury
  • Lake Mburo is located in Kiruhura District in western Uganda
  • Lake Bisina is Located on Kumi-Soroti Road in Kumi District
  • Lake Opeta is located on Katakwi-Magoro Road in Katakwi district
  • Lake Kitandra is located in Kanungu District adjacent to Bwindi Impenetrable Forest

About The Author

Related posts

Visit Us On TwitterVisit Us On FacebookVisit Us On Google PlusVisit Us On YoutubeVisit Us On LinkedinCheck Our Feed