Decentralised system of governance in Burundi

Burundi is adopting a decentralized system of governance similar to that of Rwanda.

Following Law No. 1/010 of 18 March 2005 on the promulgation of the Constitution of the Republic of Burundi is the main base of decentralization.

Burundi is currently divided into 17 provinces. These are further sub-divided into 129 communes. Commune councils are made up of 15 elected members (of which at least five are women) who are elected in a block as lists presented by political parties, rather than as individual candidates.

Communes are further divided into „collines‟ or hills. There are currently 2,910 collines with an average population of 2,85313.

About The Author

Related posts